Company during marking – Tiger the Cat

I have loads to mark every end-Nov – early Dec, during which I throw in a Sungei Buloh Aniversary Walk.

So that meant many late nights marking the 500+ scripts of essays and short answers I determinedly set for my 1st, 2nd and 3rd year students, instead of chickening out with MCQs which machines will add up for us – a fantasy I often imagine in the midst of marking. Well, thankfully not while setting exam questions as these offer a better insight into student understanding for changes to teaching the following year.

Well, the cats love all the late night activity, and like when I am up nights preparing lecture material, they keep me company.

Tiger the cat never just sits companionably by my side, instead he first plops himself on the exam papers rouses his tail to sweep over pages, head-butts me and mews, twists and turns, demanding the massages he has been receiving since he was a kitten.

He’ll scrunch his head up around his muzzle until I inevitably relent. His massage requires concentration and I run up and down his spine, so I take a break while working on him. Cat wins every time.

Company during marking - Tiger the cat

Company during marking - Tiger the cat

Company during marking - Tiger the cat

Company during marking - Tiger the cat

Company during marking - Tiger the cat

Leave a Reply

