Enable Google Labs feature to make “reply all” your default in GMail

Often in email exchanges with several people, my students or the collaborator will email me alone and not everyone. Then I have to do the honours of re-inserting the rest before I respond to the comment or forward it on. These are obviously comments which are relevant or would be of interest to the rest.

When this happens when everyone knows each other and are ‘liking’ each other’s comment on facebook the same day about that same subject, I sure do feel like cussin’.

So I try to remember to ask when we are face to face to weed out irritating habits. Sometimes though, I get the response “I didn’t realise,” or “I accidentally clicked reply instead of reply all”. Then it dawned on me that their default on gmail is “reply” and “not reply all”.

So if you are highly collaborative or are rarely ever on long lists of emails on the CC list of people you don’t want to talk to, then enable a feature within Google Labs, called “Default ‘Reply to all'” by a certain Mark K. Thanks dude!

Mailplane for sivasothi@gmail.com

Mailplane for sivasothi@gmail.com

Google Labs is full of lovely stuff – a favourite of mine is “Send & Archive” by a certain by Pal T.

Thanks, Pal! 🙂

One thought on “Enable Google Labs feature to make “reply all” your default in GMail

Leave a Reply

