Blood stocks very low so Joelle Lai answers the call – 450ml of still warm blood!

Update – stocks recovered, but keep thinking about donating regularly!

Joelle Lai holds up all 450ml of her blood at the HSA Blood Centre just minutes ago, answering a call for donors. Well done Joelle!

She says,

“Even with low blood pressure, I rustled up 450 ml! It did take a longer time though. I wasn’t allowed to donate until I spent 15 minutes chugging fluids and managed to raise [my blood pressure] to juuust above the ‘okay’ line.

I was in and out within an hour and the nurse entertained my request to snap a picture of me holding my fresh bag of blood in my hands. I love this picture!”

Joelle Lai's blood donation Fri 18 Oct 2013 - 450ml

We need more like her to step forward. After an update since this morning, stocks of three blood types are now “Very Low”.

20131018: 1923 - Singapore Blood Stocks Indicator — Donorweb

Update – Red Cross has issued an appeal for O+ donors this weekend.

Red Cross appeal, Fri 18 Oct 2013
One thought on “Blood stocks very low so Joelle Lai answers the call – 450ml of still warm blood!

Leave a Reply

