A carefree holiday

A reminder just appeared in my inbox of a few carefree days during a recent holiday – here we conducted an impromptu coastal cleanup in Langkawi after a walk along a new coastal forest trail. This was much easier than coordinating the International Coastal Cleanup Singapore (ICCS) by 60–70 organisations spreading out along our coasts from behind a desk.

I have decided to make an effort to recruit help this year, to find hearts which beat in resonance, whom I know are out here somewhere! And I’ll do this at expense of my annual lecture circuit on marine lfie and marine debris in the first half of the year. I’ve been been conducting and coordinating coastal cleanups since 1997 and I might have neglected sustainability of this effort of late.

Here’s to a smarter year ahead.

Leave a Reply

