OS X El Capitan updates (10.11.1) and Office 365 University

OS X El Capitan 10.11.1 was released today, which you can get though Software Updates, as well as iOS9.1 for you iPhone.

I don’t mind being an early adopter because quirks will get ironed out and I will adopt workarounds. This time, the switch was relatively painless, although I did lose the use of Default Folder, Outlook 2011 died (switched to Mail) and thankfully my Office 2016 preview was not crashing (would have switched to iWork).

Microsoft Office 2016 crashes were a problem indeed for a few of my friends and today’s OS X El Capitan update should fix that, as well as add a host of security updates.

If you are on Mavericks (10.9) or Yosemite (10.11), the system requirements for El Capitan are the same, so you can make the jump. You can check if a deal breaker app is not updated at RoaringApps and read Lifehacker’s “Should I Upgrade to Mac OS X El Capitan?

Microsoft Office 365 University Office for School

This morning, my Office 2016 preview alerted me that my trial was almost over. The free Office option did not seem available for NUS, so I bought Office 365 University for S$108 (four-year subscription, two macs & 1TB cloud storage) and continued with my work – a flawless transition.

A few hours later I had switched to using Outlook 2016 for my NUS Exchange emails.

Leave a Reply

