How I’m (still) updating the International Coastal Cleanup Singapore webpage

The International Coastal Cleanup Singapore webpage, originally prepared with Claris Homepage, was last revamped by Data Captain Airani in 2001 using Dreamweaver. I’ve been updating it ever since with Text Wrangler which allows me to write direct to the server. The ICCS page is a simple one so this is not really dangerous.

We lost the home page during the flurry of updating results and my recent hard disk changes and re-installations meant I had no recent local copy of the file. So I went to the Internet Wayback Machine to retrieve the cached version from April and updated the page.

After 20 minutes, all seems fine.

I realise as I typed that I have not progressed in my methods since a one hour class I took in 1999. I suppose the availability of embedded GDocs sheets and pages (around 2006 or 2007) for reports and guidelines has circumvented the need to learn more. Otherwise, updates with TextWrangler has worked fine with what I am able to recall of HTML.

I hope this doesn’t break any time soon as I need to shift the server in November. It is likely github might provide a solution.

I would love to learn more but there is so much to do. So I am really glad a short little coding lesson with just HTML and FTP has lasted me so long.

Screenshot 130
3 thoughts on “How I’m (still) updating the International Coastal Cleanup Singapore webpage

Leave a Reply

