Discussing server migration with Keith Phua at FoS ITU

I have been having an interesting discussion with old friend Keith Phua about server migration to Github, Amazon S3 or Bluehost. This Thursday morning discussion was a long time coming, as first notice was served in April this year.

Keith has been providing me with tech support since 1999, when I first learnt a few HTML commands and how to FTP. I then was bale to become an early adopter of Science servers for webpages and blogs: these were wings to let me fly when it was most needed for mangroves, coastal cleanups, Chek Jawa, Habitatnews, Raffles Museum News, Otterman speaks… etc.

But now it is time to shift!

My many servers are mostly static and dynamic content can be pushed to blogs. Server access is low but the pages are evergreen and I am still referencing pages made over a decade ago. So where to migrate content to?

GitHub allows multiple repositories under a single account so I could push all files to a single site and map domains to relevant repositories. It is really meant for project management by geeks but there a desktop client which eases things for me. I’ll give it a spin and map the old domain to the github URL and decide about permanent residence later.

Keith and I
Leave a Reply

