M1’s 100mbps fixed broadband

My Singnet plan ran out a couple of months ago and when I finally noticed, I realised I was paying almost double what I need be paying, now that the contract was over – Singnet didn’t bother with a resubscription reminder or offer.

I had begin to experience one too many wireless gateway dropped messages while surfing, complete with Singnet logo so I wanted something that could work. I had suspected that the 2WIRE 2700HG-D modem was at fault but instead wandered into an M1 shop last week, having heard of their foray into the broadband market last August. I recklessly walked out with a SB6100 SURFboard Downstream Channel Bonding Modem and a purported 100Mbps fixed broadband line and a six-month subscription scheme at $94.40/mth.

A two-year subscription would cost $76.70/mth for existing M1 subscribers – that would actually be cheaper than my post-contract payments on the 10mbps Singnet line! But I decided I’d try the shorter, more expensive trail and revisit the market at year-end.

My internet use is rather intensive while preparing for lectures and with six modules ahead of me next academic year, I’m planning to get ahead of the pack for once with lecture preparation. And each time I get an error when trying to load a page, I lose time and momentum.


Ethernet cable connection to iBook 1GHz 14.1″, 22 May 2009: 2313h


Ethernet cable connection to MacBook Pro 1.83GHz , 22 May 2009: 2335h

So I fell for the lure of the M1 100mbps line and loaned the cable modem. The additional charge is a $30-$50+ signal activation fee. You are only provided with a modem, so I dusted out my old Airport Express. A login at an M1 page is required and once you change the password they issued you, your browser will remember and login you in reasonably smoothly. My wired use (as you could see above) was certainly very snappy.

I have a few more things to figure out with regards to the Airport Express use and I’ll have a better feel when I actually start surfing for research from June. The numbers actually don’t tell as much as they could as there are many parameters that come into play. And erm, my NUS exchange account on Entourage doesn’t work!

Results from speedtest.net:

22 May 2009 – M1 Fixed Broadband 100Mbps over Airport Express 802.11b/g, 22.12 SST.




My friends and I have always used speedtest whenever we switched plans and we used to post results on the mean list. I found some August 2006 figures for Starhub 6.5mbps. I eventually abandoned that plan later that year because my neighbourhood choked up the line.

19 Aug 2006 – Starhub Maxonline 6.5Mbps, 10.25 SST.



I think I have some other results stacked away somewhere. Will add those if I can find them, later.

Biodiversity consultation @ Envirofest

I wish all the young students who query me throughout the year by email would simply turn up for Envirofest at HDB Hub @ Toa Payoh this weekend – Sat 23 and Sun 24 May 2009: 11am – 8pm. This is the largest aggregation of biodiversity volunteers in Singapore by far. All their answers, guiding opportunities, project mentors, specimens and free walks to sign up for will be in one place and amidst a friendly and enjoyable atmosphere.

Since volunteer guides are critical, I ensured I recruited enough Raffles Museum Toddycats to turn up in 3-hour shifts over the two days there. They responded well with more than 30 signed up. I think we might just be able to help some of the others as well.

At 3.00pm, the Blue Plan will be handed over to Minister Yaacob and this was all setup after a suggestion about a week earlier. So there have phon calls and emails etc but Farid kept a tight watch on it and its happening!

Saturday doesn’t end until later that night as I will have to hop over to Harbour Front for the MIA Night Trail (which is part of IMD) at 6pm.

I am just glad the environment blogging workshop in the morning got postponed!