Mandai mangroves and mudflats featured on Arts Central

Once Upon A Tree II featured Mandai mangroves and mudflats tonight. I learnt of this when budding naturalist Xiuli and later veteran Beng Chiak SMS-ed me. In the text accompanying the show, the identity and uncertain status of Mandai mangroves and mudflats is clearly spelt out.

Beng Chiak says it was a good depiction and did serve to give a shout out for Mandai. The ICCS Otters will also be pleased to learn that data from the International Coastal Cleanup Singapore was cited in another section of the episode. Hope I get to see it, I missed the entire first season and seem likely to do so for the second! I know Debby of The Hantu Blog is up soon, so I’d better keep a lookout. *programs handphone*

It was director’s Yean Loon’s second foray into the Mandai ecosystems complete with camera equipment and a willing crew. Executive Producer Samantha Sng was also with the team that first ventured into the mud of Mandai in 2003 for “Nature at Our Doorstep.”

Kudos to all our homegrown film makers and their crews.

Leave a comment